top of page

Magical Movies at Christmas


I am a self-procalaimed movie fanatic. Films are a passion of mine, and I love all kinds of genres. But, one genre which always touches my heart, is Christmas.

For today's Blogmas, I am bringing to you a list of my all-time favourite Christmas films, and why I love them so much.

 

1. Home Alone

Ok, so probably the most obvious choice for a favourite Christmas movie, but it can't be helped.

I first watched Home Alone - and could not stop laughing at it - when I was on holiday at Center Parcs. It was our first Christmas ever away from home, so that was magical itself. But, when I saw that my Dad had Home Alone playing on the TV I was fascinated by this film.

Ever since, I have watched Home Alone about three times at least every Christmas time. It is a true favourite of mine, and the soundtrack gives me the feels every single time!

2. The Ultimate Christmas Present

Now this is a film maybe not a lot of people will remember. Every time I ask my friends if they have ever watched this film, I get a blank face, and a question as to what it is and when it came out.

As a child, I was obsessed with the Disney channel (that was when it had actually descent shows on) and so when they would announce a new Disney Original movie I would get so excited as the countdown went down on the bottom left on my TV.

I would argue that the Disney Original movies that used to air on the TV were far better than the official Disney movies that used to be released into the cinema. That probably isn't an opinion shared by many, but I used to love them. Camp Rock, Radio Rebel, 16 Wishes... All examples of the amazing films that the Disney Channel brought to my childhood.

So, The Ultimate Christmas Present was an amazing gift at Christmas, and they used to air it every year. Unfortunately, I haven't seen it since I was about eleven, so I need to go on a hunt soon and find it!

3. Miracle on 34th Street

Who doesn't love a good, soppy, cute film at Christmas? I know I don't.

Miracle on 34th Street is one of those films that makes Christmas feel real, and truly puts the magic into Christmas. I simply love this film and the cosy feeling it provides.

The highs and lows, cuteness and sentimental moments are the recipe for the perfect Christmas film.

4. Good Luck Charlie: It's Christmas

As I said earlier, I LOVE the Disney Channel Original movies, and the Good Luck Charlie Christmas movie is no exception!

Amy Duncan used to make me laugh so much in the programme, and the dynamic within the Duncan family was so well-thought outer and hilarious. My whole family loved the programme, and the film was no disappointment, as a lot of TV programme-to-movie usually are.

The adventure Amy and Teddy go on, and the hidden surprise in the plot-line encapsulates everything a good film should be, and the festive spin makes for an amazing Christmas movie I could watch over and over again.

5. Elf

Oh my days... Elf!

Will Ferrell is an absolute genius in this film, and brings the innocent humour everyone needs at Christmas.

I simply cannot go a year without watching this film!! I mean is it Christmas without Elf? Really?

One of my favourite moments in the film is probably when Elf has spaghetti and syrup for breakfast. That would have to be my ideal breakfast quite honestly, and when Zoe Dechanel is singing in the shower and Will joins her! His innocence makes for comedy I simply cannot not laugh at.

 

There you have it, my top 5 Christmas films that I watch every holiday season!

 

See you tomorrow,

Francesca xx


Check out my Instagram...

  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page