top of page

Winter Photography

Recently we had A LOT of snow where I live, and life stood still just for a little while. It was lovely, and it got me 3 days off from college!!

So, I decided when we had snow that I would take advantage and get out my camera, put on my walking boots, wrap up warm and head out into the winter wonderland that surrounded me.

I was so glad that I did, because I would have regretted it so much if I had just stayed in the house, and ignored the beauty that was surrounding me. I cannot remember the last time that we had a proper amount of snow, so there I was wrapped up, Canon in hand.

My first venture was up the hill. After a couple of near-slips, I got up and down safely, and managed to take some lovely photos.

With my photography, I am constantly trying to push myself out of my comfort zone, and play around with the manual settings. I try not to stay in automatic mode, and try to take control of the camera, and make it do what I want it to.

It can be really tricky in the moment when everything around you is so busy, and you are on a time limit, to get your settings the way that you want them. But, I am always trying to expand my knowledge and confidence with my camera, so the ISO gets changed, the aperture and the shutter speed, and I am so happy with the results!

It all pays off in the end.

Then, I ventured into the woods. I felt as though I was in a true winter wonderland, and it was so magical.

Everywhere I looked nature was coated with a blanket of purity, and as the cold air hit, I did not care, because I was happy. Nature was all around me, and bright colours popped against the stark white backdrop.

All of a sudden as I was leaving the forest, a robin appeared. I got the perfect shot that I wanted, and I knew that I had made the right decision when I left the house that day.

The moral of this story... Don't ignore the beauty around you, and even if you get cold for a little while, go out and explore the magic!

See you tomorrow...

Francesca xx


Check out my Instagram...

  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page